Home / News / The American Heart Association Announces Middle Tennessee Board of Directors

The American Heart Association Announces Middle Tennessee Board of Directors

The Middle Tennessee American Heart Association is pleased to announce its 2017-2018 Board of Directors. President and COO of LifePoint Health David M. Dill will serve as chairman and TriStar Health cardiologist Dr. Thomas S. Johnston will serve as president.

“It is an honor and a privilege to continue my longstanding partnership with the American Heart Association by serving as this year’s Board Chair,” said David Dill, President and Chief Operating Officer of LifePoint Health. “I look forward to working closely with our talented and committed board members to promote better heart health and help create a healthier Nashville.”

“I am honored to support the mission of the American Heart Association to improve heart disease and stroke awareness and prevention by serving as Middle Tennessee Board President this year,” states Dr. Thomas Johnston, cardiologist at TriStar Health. “Recognizing heart disease and stroke risks, promoting healthy lifestyles and supporting prevention efforts are critical to improving the lives of everyone in our community. I’m looking forward to supporting those efforts here in Middle Tennessee.”

2017-2018 Board Members are as follows:

Greg Allen, President, Cigna Tennessee;

Walter K. Clair, M.D., Associate Professor, Executive Medical Director, Vanderbilt Heart and Vascular Institute;

George H. Crossley III, M.D. Associate Professor of Clinical, Vanderbilt Heart & Vascular Institute;

Bruce C. Doeg, Chief Strategic Officer, Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell and Berkowitz, PC;

Marilyn A. Dubree, Executive Chief Nursing Officer, Vanderbilt University Medical Center;

John P. Gromos, Vice President, General Manager, Turner Construction;

Carl Haley, JR., President and Chief Executive Officer, Grand Avenue;

Ken Harms;

Angela Humphreys, Chair, Healthcare Practice Group, Bass Berry & Simms PLC;

Damon T. Hininger, President and Chief Executive Officer, CoreCivic;

Adrian Jarquin-Valdivia, M.D., Neurologist, TriStar Health;

Alfred Lumsdaine, President, Population Health, Sharecare, Inc.;

Scott McWilliams, Executive Vice President of Strategic Development, GEODIS;

Ken Misch, Chief Financial Officer, MEDHOST, Inc.;

Steve Otto, Chief Executive Officer, TriStar Skyline Medical Center;

Dr. William S. Paul, Director, Metro Public Health Department;

Heather J. Rohan, Division President, TriStar Health;

Frank S. Royal, JR. M.D., Executive Vice Dean for Academic Affiliations, Meharry Medical College;

Nelson Shields, Nextime, Inc.;

Brian Waller, Chief Strategy Officer & Founding Partner, Vaco;

Brian Wilcox, JR., M.D., Chief Physician Executive, Saint Thomas Heart;

Herman Williams, M.D., Chief Clinical Officer, RCCH HealthCare Partners;

Amy Wilson, Chief Nursing Officer, Saint Thomas Healthy;

Beth Workman, Chief Financial Officer, United Derm Partners

The Middle Tennessee American Heart Association also thanks the following individuals for chairing our 2017-18 annual campaigns:

2017 Healthy For Good/Heart Walk Chair: Dr. Philip A. Wenk, President and CEO, Delta Dental

2018 Healthy For Good/Heart Walk Chair: Neil de Crescenzo, CEO Change Healthcare Holdings, Inc.

2018 Heart Gala Co-Chairs: Lisa and Michael Wiechart, EVP and COO, TEAMHealth

2018 Go Red For Women Co-Chairs: Saletta Holloway, SVP for Admin., Meharrry Medical College; Tracey Power, Chief People Officer, Vaco., LLC

2018 Red Tie Society Co-Chairs: Don Chomsky, M.D., Saint Thomas Heart; Jerry Bostelman, Founding Partner, Vaco, LLC


The Middle Tennessee American Heart Association serves the community of Nashville and its surrounding counties. Board members will assist the organization in achieving its 2020 impact goal to improve the cardiovascular health of all Americans by 20 percent while reducing deaths from cardiovascular diseases and stroke by 20 percent.

About News Desk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *